Austria, Bosseln & Switching Families

Hallo! Right after my last report, I left for Kals am Grossglockner, a ski resort in Austria for this Rotary district’s ski trip. This meant a 12 hour bus ride, thankfully overnight. As the sun started to rise (around 5am), someone noticed that the mountains were becoming visible, and we all got super excited (our district in Germany being very flat).

Out of the 27 of us, only a few had skied before (including myself), but the others had lessons and everyone had an amazing time! The Alps were stunning, and it was sunny the entire week. Sadly that meant no new snow, but the resort made new artificial snow every night, so it was still decent to ski on.

And of course what is a post about Europe without food: We also enjoyed Kaesespaetzle (dough-ish handmade noodles with cheese and onions) and Kaiserschmarrn (German sort of pancakes).

 

The weekend after I got back, I got to try Bosseln – a typical north-German sport/activity, which consists of two teams taking turns rolling balls down empty streets, trying to cover more distance than the other team. Sort of like bowling, but on empty (very flat) farm roads (which north Germany has plenty of), followed by everyone eating Gruenkohlessen (cooked kale, ham, sausage, potatoes etc.) together. It also includes lot of Bier and Schnapps, making it quite a social activity (and a funny one being the observing exchange student). They even have a special long tool used to retrieve the balls from the ditches. As if to make it even more north-German, we stopped partway through at a barn for tea/coffee and Kuchen (cakes).
img_2870
New home!

I have also switched host families! I will definitely miss my last family, but I think it will be nice to change things up a bit too. My new host parents are super nice, and live in a very huge and very old house – it’s been in my host dad’s family’s possession for generations!

I’m also happy about having a piano in my room, as well as being approx. 5 minutes closer to the school!
I hope everything is going well with everyone!
Tschuess!
– Hannah

One thought on “Austria, Bosseln & Switching Families

  1. great pics, Hannie bananie. We can try that bowling at home on our driveway when you get back. Might not be flat enough… Your new house looks spectacular, like something from Harry Potter.

Leave a comment